William Melton

The PAXMAN Horn Quartet Gig Book

Complete set of parts (Horn 1 to 4)
Stimmensatz (Horn 1 bis 4)

ee 207030
© 2008 edition ebenos

EUR 69,90

More about / Mehr über...
> The PAXMAN Gig Book (English)
> The PAXMAN Gig Book (Deutsch)
> Reviews / Presse

Previews / Einblicke...
> Foreword / Vorwort
> Table of Contents / Inhaltsverzeichnis
> Musical example / Notenbeispiel

Additional / Zusätzliches...
> Programme notes / Werkbeschreibungen
> Accessories / Zubehör

The PAXMAN Horn Quartet Gig Book is a one-volume solution for your next quartet gig.
, it covers a wide range of occasions from solemn to festive.

A few old favourites are included among the 89 pieces, but most are new arrangements
that span five centuries of musical style. Also present are original works for horn quartet
that have been out of print for generations. Novelties include a fresh transcription from
manuscript sources of a well known classic as well as the first performing edition of a long
neglected gem.

What’s more, detailed programme notes for every piece can be downloaded and inserted
directly into your own programme booklets: > Programm notes

The author William Melton is a career hornist with a German orchestra. Over the last forty
years he has arranged horn quartets and played in quartet performances throughout
Europe, North America, Asia and Australia.

^ nach oben / to top of page

The PAXMAN Horn Quartet Gig Book liefert für alle Gelegenheiten das passende Repertoire.
bietet es Musik für Hornquartett zu Anlässen jeglicher Art - das alles in einem
handlichen Band.

Die meisten der 89 Stücke sind, neben einigen unverzichtbaren ‚Hits’, neue Bearbeitungen
von Musik verschiedenster Stilrichtungen aus fünf Jahrhunderten. Aber auch schon lange
nicht mehr im Druck erhältliche originale Kompositionen für Hornquartett erscheinen hier
endlich wieder, zum Teil in anhand der Originalquellen erstellten, neuen Transkriptionen.

Und nicht zuletzt: Programme Notes, d. h., ausführliche Werkbeschreibungen zu jedem
Stück in Form von Programmheft-Texten (in englischer Sprache) sind frei erhältlich
unter: > Programm notes

Der Autor William Melton ist Hornist in einem deutschen Sinfonie Orchester. Schon seit
40 Jahren arrangiert er Stücke für Hornquartett und konzertierte mit verschiedenen
Quartetten in Europa. Nord Amerika, Asien und Australien.

^ nach oben / to top of page

From the Foreword / Aus dem Vorwort

Compilations of horn music have a long history. Chapbooks of horn calls for use on the hunt,
like those in Le livre de chasse by Gaston de Foix or Hardouin’s Trésor de vénerie, have come
down to us from the late middle ages. More recently, hornists of the Romantic era such as
Friedrich Gumpert and Alfred Diewitz produced collections of marches, dances and hymns
arranged for their preferred ensemble, the horn quartet. Since then those anthologies (and
their successor, the Green Books) have often been heard on festive occasions. Their compact
and organised format saved players from juggling sheaves of separate quartets. There is
enough risk associated with horn playing without adding a mad scramble for music to the
equation of cold concert venue, poor lighting, impatient audience, nervous host … (the
potential distractions go on).

The older compendiums are now showing their age, and harbour many disadvantages for
modern hornists. The selections are heavily weighted towards the hunt or folk music pieces
that are outmoded for contemporary audiences. The average hornist’s technique has improved
mightily in the last century, so the preponderance of low, dark keys that these collections
employed can be avoided and the range spread out (both higher and lower), resulting in a
brighter, more open sound. The first horn in the older arrangements is rarely given a break
from the melodic line, but if third horn is assigned a larger share the first horn’s endurance
can be greatly extended. Further, the use of key signatures (sometimes up to six flats),
dependence on complicated systems of repeats (which can easily be missed in the heat of
battle), awkward page turns, and the use of ‘old’ bass clef — all of these previous characteristics
can make playing harder than it needs to be. Authentic horn notation, always employing
accidentals rather than key signatures, also makes a quick transposition into a lower key
(if the first horn is tiring) a much easier proposition.

Hence these books. They address many social occasions where music might be required
(weddings, birthdays, funerals, worship services, parties, holidays, etc.). Musical epochs
from Renaissance* to early 20th century are represented in the over seventy new
arrangements, and a few of the old favourites have been retained. The Rimsky-Korsakov
Notturno is one of the latter, but has previously existed only in a version that contains many
markings not by the composer. The edition included here is faithful to the two St. Petersburg
manuscrip sources of the work. Research in libraries across Germany has yielded a number
of original works for horn quartet out of print for generations, like Carl August Hänsel's
complete Quatuors originaux, Op. 75. The Tchaikovsky Adagio for Horn Quartet fragment
first appears here in a performing version, rounded out with an optional ending employing
another Tchaikovsky work.

An appendix gives full scores of two trios (one solemn, one lively) in the instance of a tardy
quartet member. The present format is a compromise; small enough to fit into a horn case
easily, but large enough to avoid squinting at microscopic noteheads. The ring binding
assures that the pages will remain securely open during play. Extensive programme notes
will be posted on the publisher's website, and performers are welcome to download and
insert these notes into their programme booklets.

^ nach oben / to top of page

Table of Contents / Inhaltsverzeichnis:

^ nach oben / to top of page

Musical example / Notenbeispiel:
(No. 12, Horn 1-4)

Horn 1

Horn 2

Horn 3

Horn 4

^ nach oben / to top of page

      THE HORN PLAYER Winter 2008
(British Horn Society)
      "The 'Green Books' did sterling service but now, sponsored by
Paxmans, comes a compendium of far greater musical scope and
erudition from William Melton ... The print quality by edition ebenos
is superb: each book comes ring bound and in its own plastic wallet
[available separately] ... In addition, it must be pointed out that
Melton has put online some of the most readable, user-friendly
programme notes that I have ever seen -- worth taking a look at for
one's education alone ... I am quite, quite sure that this fantastic
collection will be with us forty years hence."

      THE HORN CALL February 2009
(International Horn Society),
      "It is hard to overstate how much fun my students and I had working
our way through these little books. In all, we are presented with 89
individual pieces in convenient spiral-bound part books that cover
just about every occasion a gigging horn quartet might need ...
Concert pieces range from the Renaissance to the early 20th century,
and their are some real nice surprises there -- since William Melton
is the compiler, this should come as no surprise ... Any working
quartet which hasn't already compiled their own gig books should own
these, and it is likely that there are enough new or unknown pieces
to make it worthwhile for any quartet, for any occasion."

^ nach oben / to top of page