William Melton

The PAXMAN Horn Quartet Gig Book II

Complete set of parts (Horn 1 to 4)
Stimmensatz (Horn 1 bis 4)

ee 213020
© 2013 edition ebenos

EUR 69,90

More about / Mehr über...
> The PAXMAN Gig Book II (English)
> The PAXMAN Gig Book II (Deutsch)
> Reviews / Presse

Previews / Einblicke...
> Foreword / Vorwort
> Table of Contents / Inhaltsverzeichnis
> Musical example / Notenbeispiel

Additional / Zusätzliches...
> Programme notes / Werkbeschreibungen
> Accessories / Zubehör

The PAXMAN Horn Quartet Gig Book II is, like its predecessor, a one-volume solution
for your next quartet gig. With chapters like Sacred Music, Occasional Music, The Hunt,
and Little Concert Pieces, it covers a wide range of occasions from solemn to festive.

A few old favourites are included among the 107 pieces, but most are new arrangements
that span six centuries of musical style. Also present are premiere editions of original works
for horn quartet from manuscript sources, as well as others that have been out of print
for generations.

What’s more, detailed programme notes for every piece can be downloaded and inserted
directly into your own programme booklets, from > Programm notes

The author William Melton is a career hornist with a German orchestra. Over the last
forty-five years he has arranged horn quartets and played in quartet performances
throughout Europe, North America, Asia and Australia.

^ nach oben / to top of page

The PAXMAN Horn Quartet Gig Book II liefert, wie schon im ersten Band, für alle
Gelegenheiten das passende Repertoire. Mit den Kapiteln I. SACRED MUSIC, II. OCCASIONAL
, III. THE HUNT und IV. LITTLE CONCERT PIECES bietet es Musik für Hornquartett zu
Anlässen jeglicher Art - das alles in einem handlichen Band.

Einige unverzichtbaren ‚Hits’ sind unter den 107 Stücken, jedoch die meisten sind neue
Bearbeitungen von Musik verschiedenster Stilrichtungen aus sechs Jahrhunderten. Auch schon
lange nicht mehr im Druck erhältliche originale Kompositionen erscheinen hier, ebenso wie
erstmals nach dem Manuskript veröffentlichte originale Hornquartette.

Und nicht zuletzt: Programme Notes, d. h., ausführliche Werkbeschreibungen zu jedem
Stück in Form von Programmheft-Texten (in englischer Sprache) sind frei erhältlich
unter: > Programm notes

Der Autor William Melton ist Hornist in einem deutschen Sinfonie Orchester. Schon seit
45 Jahren arrangiert er Stücke für Hornquartett und konzertierte mit verschiedenen
Quartetten in Europa. Nord Amerika, Asien und Australien.

^ nach oben / to top of page

From the Foreword / Aus dem Vorwort

‘Quartets! What joy! That is living in the very heart of music’.
Patrick O’Brian (The Wine-Dark Sea)

‘It is evident that the quartet of horns,’ wrote Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov in The Principles of
presents every facility for four-part harmony, perfectly balanced in tone’.
Few groups of identical instruments command enough octaves to deliver a wide repertoire,
but horn ensembles have done just that since their beginnings at Charlemagne’s court in
the early Middle Ages. What began as an adjunct to the hunt moved over the intervening
millennium to centre stage with 19th century horn quartet collections by Gumpert and Diewitz.

The present volume stands firmly in this tradition, offering a large selection of arrangements
that complement sacred, social and concert settings. Differences with older collections will
be noticed: ‘old’ bass clef and complex key signatures have been banished, while ample
courtesy accidentals and healing breaks from high register play have been added. The sound
of four horns is a rich one and too much exposure can affect listeners like over-indulgence
in dessert. But a varying menu of styles can help avoid audience indigestion, so selections
here range from Guillaume Dufay (born about 1397) through Alban Berg (born 1885).

Beyond the many new arrangements (often taken from works that recreated horn sound
on piano or voices and are here welcomed back into the horn fold) are pieces composed
originally for horn quartet. Some, like those by Josef Spary, Emil Kronke, and Karl Goepfart,
have been out of print for over a century. Others, including works by Louis Delune and
Hendrik Willems, have slumbered as manuscripts in archives and are published here for the
first time. Here’s hoping that they, along with the rest of this collection, offer the chance
to take both performers and audience into ‘the very heart of music’.

Chapter V. gives full scores of two trios (one solemn, one lively) in the instance of a tardy
quartet member. The present format is a compromise; small enough to fit into a horn case
easily, but large enough to avoid squinting at microscopic noteheads. The ring binding
assures that the pages will remain securely open during play. Extensive programme notes
will be posted on the publisher's website, and performers are welcome to download and
insert these notes into their programme booklets.

^ nach oben / to top of page

Table of Contents / Inhaltsverzeichnis:

^ nach oben / to top of page

Musical example / Notenbeispiel:
(No. 100, Horn 1-4)

Horn 1

Horn 2

Horn 3

Horn 4

^ nach oben / to top of page

      THE HORN PLAYER Winter 2008
(British Horn Society)
      "The 'Green Books' did sterling service but now, sponsored by
Paxmans, comes a compendium of far greater musical scope and
erudition from William Melton ... The print quality by edition ebenos
is superb: each book comes ring bound and in its own plastic wallet
[available separately] ... In addition, it must be pointed out that
Melton has put online some of the most readable, user-friendly
programme notes that I have ever seen -- worth taking a look at for
one's education alone ... I am quite, quite sure that this fantastic
collection will be with us forty years hence."

      THE HORN CALL February 2009
(International Horn Society),
      "It is hard to overstate how much fun my students and I had working
our way through these little books. In all, we are presented with 89
individual pieces in convenient spiral-bound part books that cover
just about every occasion a gigging horn quartet might need ...
Concert pieces range from the Renaissance to the early 20th century,
and their are some real nice surprises there -- since William Melton
is the compiler, this should come as no surprise ... Any working
quartet which hasn't already compiled their own gig books should own
these, and it is likely that there are enough new or unknown pieces
to make it worthwhile for any quartet, for any occasion."

^ nach oben / to top of page